Cottage Containers 2012

To get this season’s cottage container gardening kicked off – this saturday my mother and I visited local nurseries around Sodus Bay. I discovered that Grandpa’s on Route 104 in Sodus has a much larger plant selection than I anticipated. It was a prefect spring day – 78 and sunny on the bay. Not too shabby considering the Lake is still fairly cold.

Last year with the help of Lisa we were introduced to the Elephant Ear. A unique annual with a large leaf – similar to the look of an elephant ear if you will. They are not your typical geranium.

My favorite annual has to be fiber optic grass. I was thrilled to come across it again and actually yelled out in the nursery upon spotting it. I drew some attention to myself at that point but I didn’t care.

As I usually post during lunch (1/2 hour), I will have to keep this short and I want to get the photos uploaded for your viewing pleasure. We are only about 1/2 done with the containers for this year. More planting to be done next weekend.  I encourage you to leave questions or comments on the plants if you have any, thanks!! -SC

PS- Garden in whatever makes your comfortable… I included my fancy pink attire. It was sunny, why not get a tan while work on the yard!

Tagged , , , ,

One thought on “Cottage Containers 2012

  1. annie says:

    waiting to see the finished results, then you can do my cottage containers!! you rock sarah!!!

Leave a Reply

